Town of Clayton Delaware Established in 1887

Go To Search
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Mayor & Town Council
Town Council
The Town of Clayton is governed by a five member council. Each member is elected, at-large, to a two-year term. Three (3) members are elected one year (for two-year terms). Two (2) members are elected on the alternate year (for two-year terms).

Persons who are at least 21 years old and not a convicted felon for at least 15 years preceding the election, are eligible for candidacy.

Elections are held on the last Tuesday in April between 2:00 p.m. and 7:00 p.m..

On the second Monday evening in May, the Council shall meet for the purpose of organization. The election of a Council President, Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer shall take place then.

The members of Council will vote upon these offices. The President of Council will be referred to as Mayor.

Town Council meetings are held on the second Monday of each month. The Council will hold a meeting at 7:00 p.m. in the council chambers at: 

Town Hall
Council Chambers 
414 Main Street
Clayton, DE 19938

Additional meetings shall be posted in public view and/or advertised through a local publication of public record with respect to the standards of the Freedom of Information Act.

Public Comments and Agenda Items
Public comments, without rebuttal from the Council, will be entertained.

Specific actionable items are requested to be scheduled no less than seven (7) days prior to a meeting – with the citizen's name and nature of comment or inquiry noted for the public record.

Download the Request to be on Town Council Agenda

Town of Clayton
P.O. Box 1130
414 Main Street
Clayton, DE 19938

Ph: (302) 653-8419
Fx: (302) 653-2017
RSS Feeds Icon